UGC grants full freedom for 62 higher educational institutions

UGC Grants Freedom 62 Educational Institutions

NEW DELHI: The University Grants Commission (UGC) has granted full freedom to 62 higher educational institutes including top Universities which names have been given following:
1. Jawaharlal Nehru University
2. Banaras Hindu University
3. Aligarh Muslim University
4. The Energy and Resources Institute
5. University of Hyderabad

The 62 institutes include 52 Universities in which 5 central universities, 21 state universities, 24 deemed universities, and 2 private universities.

“These universities will remain within the range of UGC but will have the freedom to begin new courses, off campus centers, skill development courses, research parks and any other new academic programs. They will also have the freedom to hire foreign faculty, enroll foreign students, give incentive based emoluments to the faculty, enter into academic collaborations and run open distance learning programmes,” said Javadekar.

The decision was taken at a UGC meeting today where five central universities, 21 state universities, 26 private universities besides 10 other colleges were granted freedom under the Autonomous Colleges Regulation.

Union Human resource Development minister Prakash Javadekar hailed as “historic” the UGC move which will enable the selected institutes to decide their admission procedure, fee structure and curriculum, among others.

“And for all of this they will not have to come to the regulator again and again for seeking permission because they have maintained quality and achieved a benchmark of 3.26 and above NAAC (National Accreditation and Assessment Council) ranking,” he added.

The state universities which have been granted the autonomous status are Jadavpur University, Andhra University, Algappa University, National University of Law, Utkal University, Kurukshetra University, Osmania University, Guru Nanak Dev University, University of Jammu, University of Mysore, Anna University, Panjab University and University of Madras, among others.

OP Jindal Global University, Sonipat and Pandit Deen Dayal Petroleum University, Gujarat are among the private institutions selected by the UGC for the autonomous status.

The 10 colleges which have been granted autonomy will have full freedom but not degree awarding powers, Javadekar said.