BJP President Amit Shah, Smriti Irani take oath as Rajya Sabha members today


NEW DELHI: Bharatiya Janta Party president Amit Shah and Union Minister for Information and Broadcast Smriti Irani on Friday swear as Rajya Sabha members in the presence of Vice President and Upper House chairman Venkaiah Naidu.

Vice President presided the oath ceremony.

BJP Amit shah and Irani had won their seat from Gujarat by clinching 46 votes each.
They were accompanied by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad among others.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had congratulated them after their victory in last week.

PM Modi congratulates both BJP President Amit Shah and Smriti Irani for elected to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat