West Bengal elections: third phase Voting begins in 62 seats today


West Bengal:-Voting for the third phase of West Bengal Assembly election for 62 seats, including seven constituencies in West bangalKolkata, began on Thursday. Assembly election in West Bengal will be start amid high security.

At least 1.37 crore voters will take part in this important phase. 418 candidates including 34 women will decide their fate in this phase. The constituencies are spread over Murshidabad Nadia, Burdwan districts and north Kolkata.

Top candidates in this phase include Trinamool Congress ministers Shashi Panja and Sadhan Pande, BJP national secretary Rahul Sinha, five-time Congress MLA Md Sohrab, CPI-M MLA Anisur Rahman and retired IPS officer Nazrul Islam.

Of the 418 candidates in the fray, 61 are crorepatis, 80 have criminal cases against them, with 65 of them declaring serious criminal offences like murder and rape against their name.

Based on complaints received from the electorate, 6,095 voters have been identified as vulnerable after which action has been taken by 4,094 trouble mongers.
The ruling Trinamool Congress, Left-Congress alliance along with BJP have put up a struggle in all the seats.
So far, voters in 105 of the total 294 constituencies have exercised their right to frachise on three dates — April 4, 11 and 17 — in the first two phases.

West Bengal goes to polls in a six-phase election. Polling for the remaining phases will be held on April 25, 30 and May 5.