Vijay Rupani swore as new Chief Minister of Gujarat, Nitin Patel as Dy CM


NEW DELHI: Vijay Rupani on Tuesday swore as the 14th Chief Minister of Gujarat. The grand swearing ceremony of the new CM Rupani is celebrating by the ruling party amid high security at the new Secretariat complex in Gandhinagar.

While Nitin Patel also took oath as a deputy Chief Minister in the same venue. Vijay Rupani became a new and twice chief minister of the state. Rupani took oath in the Gujarati language.

Vijay Rupani was born in 1956 in a Jain Bania family, completed his Bachelor of Arts from Dharmendrasinhji Arts College and LLB from Saurashtra University.

Vijay Rupani started his career as student activist associated with Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad. He joined in several organizations and also served to people with a huge curiosity. On 19 February 2016, Rupani became the state BJP president on the place of R. C. Faldu.

He was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Gujarat on 7 August 2016. In the Gujarat Legislative Assembly election, 2017, he regained Rajkot West constituency defeating the Indian National Congress candidate Indranil Rajyaguru.

He was elected without opposing as the leader of the legislature party on 22 December 2017 and is continued as the Chief Minister of Gujarat with Nitin Patel as the Deputy Chief Minister.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and Chief Ministers of ruled States were also present in the function.

Although, the Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had announced in the respect of Rupani for the second term Chief Minister.
Apart from the oath of Rupani and Nitin Patel, several MLA also took the oath a minister which descriptions have been given below:

Live Updates:

# RC Faldu, Bhupindrasinh Chudasama, and Kaushik Patel take oath as ministers in Gujarat government
# Saurabh Patel, Ganpatsinh Vestabhai Vasava, and Jayeshbhai Vitthalbhai Radadiya take oath as ministers in Gujarat government
# Dilipkumar Viraji Thakor, Ishwarbhai Ramanbhai Parmar, and Pradipsinh Jadeja take oath as ministers in Gujarat government
# Union Cabinet ministers at the swearing-in ceremony
# LK Advani, Anandiben Patel also on the dais
# UP CM Yogi Adityanath arrives at the venue
# 20 ministers including CM Vijay Rupani and Deputy CM Nitin Patel to take oath shortly
# “Feeling blessed after offering prayers to Panchdev Mahadev Temple in Gandhinagar. Prayed for Gujarat’s welfare,” tweets Vijay Rupani ahead of the swearing-in ceremony.
# Prime Minister Narendra Modi is currently reaching the venue. The prime minister is currently undertaking a roadshow amid a rousing welcome.