Rajya Sabha Election 2018: Voting begins In 7 states today

Rajya Sabha Election 2018: Voting begins In 7 states today

NEW DELHI: Voting for the Rajya Sabha Election 2018 in seven states has been stated on March 23, Friday at 9 am which will be end at 4 pm. For the 59 Rajya Sabha seats to be filled, 33 candidates from 10 states were declared elected unopposed.

While the elections in Uttar Pradesh state are being watched closely. The Rajya Sabha elections in six other states such as West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Kerala and Telangana are also being on today.

Although, Seven union ministers including Ravi Shankar Prasad and Prakash Javadekar were already elected unopposed. Counting of votes will be started at 5 pm today after voting ends.

In West Bengal, the Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress is backing Congress nominee Abhishek Manu Singhvi. There are six candidates are in the fray for the five Rajya Sabha seats from the state. The ruling Congress in Karnataka is fielded three candidates for four seats.

While Congress has enough to win two seats, the BJP is sending businessman Rajeev Chandrashekhar who joined the party earlier this month. Elections will also be held for two seats in Jharkhand where three candidates are in the fray, including two of the state’s ruling BJP and one of the Congress.