Rajasthan,West Bengal by-polls: Voting begins for Parliamentary, Assembly Seats today

Rajasthan and West Bengal assembly poll 2018

NEW DELHI:  Voting for Uluberia Lok Sabha constituency and Noapara assembly seat in West Bengal has started amid tight security today.

Polling for the Lok Sabha (Parliamentary) seats of Alwar and Ajmer in Rajasthan and by-poll to assembly seat of Mandalgarh in Rajasthan has been started today amid tightened security.

More than 38 lakh voters would decide the fate of 41 candidates for the Lok Sabha seats of Ajmer and Alwar, and the Assembly seat of Mandalgarh.
Eleven candidates in Alwar, 23 in Ajmer and eight candidates in Mandalgarh are taking part in the fray.

Ajmer and Alwar Lok Sabha seats, and the Mandalgarh Assembly seat had been fallen vacant due to the deaths of Ajmer MP Sanwar Lal Jat, Alwar MP Chand Nath and Mandalgarh MLA Kirti Kumari last year.

The Election Commission informed that 35 companies of central police forces will be deployed to ensure free and fair elections in both the seats.
Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) with photos of candidates on them would be used at the first in India for polling. “For the first time, photos of candidates are being placed on EVM machines to avoid confusion among voters about different candidates with same names,” Chief Election Officer Ashwini Bhagat said. 38,02,168 voters are registered in all the three constituencies.
Counting will be held on February 1, 2018.