Olympian Padma Shri award 2017: Dipa, Mariyappan get Padma Shri award


NEW DELHI: Dipa Karmakar, Paralympic gold medalist Mariyappan Thangavelu, Indore’s Bhakti Yadav and AIDS social reformer  Suniti Solomon have been awarded as Padma Shri in Olympic for 2017.

Dipa Karmakar represented India at the 2016 Summer Olympics. She is the first Indian female gymnast ever to compete in the Olympics, and the first Indian gymnast to do so in 52 years.

Mariyappan Thangavelu is a paralympic high jumper. He represented India in the 2016 Summer Paralympic games held in Rio de Janeiro in the men’s high jump T-42 category, winning the gold medal in the finals.

The list of 20 awardees also includes Indore’s Bhakti Yadav, also known as ‘Doctor Dadi’ and AIDS social reformer Suniti Solomon.