LIVE: Fifth phase West Bengal Assembly Elections begins today


Kolkata: Polling in 53 constituencies in the fifth phase of West Bengal Assembly Election began on Saturday morning at 7 am amid high security all around the polling booth.

According to report, voter turnout of 19.64 percent has been recorded till 9 am in 53 constituencies that have gone to vote in West Bengal today.
Sourav Ganguly which is Indian cricketer casts his vote for the 5th phase of Assembly elections, in Kolkata

CPIM leaders accuse TMC supporters of threatening people to not vote. Friction between TMC and CPIM workers has been seen in Arambag, Hooghly (WB), while CPM worker has been allegedly beaten up while going to cast vote at Arambagh in Hooghly District. .

Bhartiya Janta Party  president Amit Shah will address public meetings in West Bengal today.
BJP  has requested to people  for cast their vote in a large numbers .
There were a large number of voter gathered in a queue in case of casting their vote. Voters line up outside polling booths in Singur and Kolkata in large numbers.

Former WB Chief Minister and prominent Left leader Buddhadeb Bhattacharya casts his vote in Kolkata
TMC prominent leader Firhad Hakim, who has stoked controversy by describing Garden Reach as ‘mini-Pakistan’ to a Pakistani journalist, has cast his vote in Kolkata.

According to ANI report, a civic police volunteer died while a bomb was thrown by unidentified people in Murshidabad’s Beldanga in the morning hours.
Poll percentage for fifth phase West Bengal Assembly election has recorded 38.15% at 11 am

At least 72.19 per cent cast their votes till 3 pm in phase 5 of West Bengal Assembly polls.
West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee casts her vote in Kolkata.
The poll panel has ordered filing of an FIR against Trinamool Congress sitting MLA and candidate Sonali Guha after she was caught on camera allegedly ordering party workers to beat CPI-M polling agents in her Satgachia constituency.
Till 1 PM, voter turnout of 59.83 per cent was recorded from Hooghly district, 58.24 per cent in South 24 Parganas while Kolkata South had the lowest turnout with 46.35 per cent.
The Election Commission said the overall average turnout was 57.10 per cent.