Live: The Election Commission orders transfer senior officers in Bihar


The Election Commission has ordered transfer of senior government officers, including home secretary Amir Subhani, in Bihar for real and fair conduct of five-stepped assembly elections in Bihar that is going on from October 12,2015.

K P Srivastava, said chief secretary of Bihar to transfer nine district magistrates and other seven superintendents of police of key and sensitive districts and asked Bihar administration to file a compliance report within 24 hours.

The Election Commission has ordered home secretary Amir Subhani to be replaced by Sudhir Kumar Rakesh, IAS officer of 1983 batch. Election Commission said “Subhani may be given any other post by the state government, as take for fit”.

The Election Commission has ordered to be the nine DMs transferred in Bihar, those are – Pratima S K Verma (Patna), Sanjay Aggarwal (Gaya), Kumar Ravi (Darbhanga), Devesh Sehera (Kaimur), Bala Murugan (Purnea), Kuldip Narayan (Madhubani), Sanjay Kumar Singh (Katihar), Gopal Meena (Lakhisarai) and M Ramchandrudu (Supaul).

In addition, the seven SSPs/SPs that have been ordered to be transferred are Vikas Vaibhav (Patna), Manu Maharaj (Gaya), Nishant Tiwary (Purnea), Ms. Kim (Supaul), Vikas Burman (Nawada), Deepak Burnwal (Lakhisarai) and Garima Malik .
The commission has further directed that the officers who are transferred from districts are not posted to any election related post.