Congress Party declared list of candidates for Punjab Assembly Election 2017


NEW DELHI: Congress party on Thursday declared a list of 61 candidates for upcoming Legislative Assembly elections in Punjab.

Captain Amarinder from Patiala, Charanjit Singh Channi and Manpreet Badal will contest from Chamkaur Sahib and Bathinda Urban.

The committee held the meeting for an hour in the presence of Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Vice president Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

Sonia Gandhi has presided this meeting in which determined the current political landscape and devise suitable plans to counter Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) and the ruling combine of Akali-BJP.

According to the Congress sources, the panel did not discuss specific seat situation in the state which has 117 assembly segments.

The Election Commission is yet to notify polls in Punjab with a section of the Congress leaders of the view that hasty ticket allocation should not be done.

Aam Aadmi Party has  announced 91 candidates and Akalis have declared around 65.