Assembly Elections results 2016 in five states


NEW DELHI: In West Bengal, Trinamool Congress Party on Thursday thrashed the opposition in assembly election 2016 and Tamil Nadu’s AIADMK proved exit polls wrong by retaining power in high-stakes Assembly elections. On the other hand, the BJP came into power in Assam while the Left made a comeback in Kerala amid a washout in West Bengal.

The Congress was the worst hit in the five-state election, losing power both in Assam, which it had ruled for 15 long years, and Kerala, where it had been confident of winning a second term.

West Bengal: Mamata Banerjee, who won from Bhabanipur constituency by 25,301 votes, TMC bagged 211 of the 294 seats, while Congress-Left combine got 76 seats in this election.
Congress, however, did better than its Left partners securing 44 seats. Left partners CPI-M bagged 26 seats, RSP-3, CPI-1 and Forward Bloc-2.
The tally of BJP which had one seat in the outgoing House, has gone up to three with state party president Dilip Ghosh winning from Kharagpur. He defeated Congress veteran Gyan Singh Sohanpal.
Assam: The BJP created new history in Assam by getting two-thirds majority in the 126-member House along with its allies.
BJP had contested in 89 seats, AGP 20 and BPF 13 seats, while Congress fought in 122 seats, opposition AIUDF in 74 constituencies.
The Congress led by Tarun Gogoi managed only 26 seats.
Kerala: The Left Democratic Front go-back into power in Kerala, winning 91 of the 140 seats in an election that saw the Congress routed and the BJP entering the Assembly after decades of waiting.
As widely anticipated, LDF led by the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) unseated the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) in the May 16 battle.
93-year-old VS Achutanandan, the face of the LDF campaign and CPI(M) polit bureau member Pinarayi Vijayan, Thomas Issac, E P Jayarajan and actor Mukesh are among prominent winners in the LDF.
Tamil Nadu: Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa led her AIADMK to a second five-year term, convincingly defeating a divided opposition and proving wrong exit polls that predicted her ouster.
“I am overwhelmed by the resounding victory given by the people. My party and I are indebted to the people of Tamil Nadu,” an emotive Jayalalithaa said as the AIADMK cruised to victory in 134 of the 232 assembly seats.
Puducherry: In a consolation win of sorts for Congress, the party in alliance with DMK won in Puducherry, securing a simple majority of 17 in the 30-member Assembly.